top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturecanyonviewcheer

Meet The 19-20 Senior Class

Updated: Apr 1, 2020

Addison Wood*Alesia Medina*Courtney Willmott*Emily Miller*Halle Romine*Isabelle Garrett

Kenya Stapley*Maggie Davis*Savannah Durbin*Shelby Haycock*Skylee Peterson*Valerie Johansen

Addison Wood

Addy's Bio: i have loved every minute of my time as a cv cheerleader! it has been such a big part of my life for four years and im sad to say goodbye. i wanted to become a cv because i loved cheer! i had cheered at elie all stars for a couple years before. i also loved cheering on our teams and i loved competing as well. throughout my years in cheer i have learned about hard work, dedication and trust. cheering isn’t all smiles and poms. it’s tough practices and little sleep. it’s cheering up to 6-7 hours a week and making new friends. i’m going to miss the girls so much when i leave. i’m going to miss cheering on the teams and my friends. i’m going to miss yelling loud with the student section. i’m going to miss stunting and dancing. i’m going to miss cheer camp and spending everyday with my friends. i think that if you are thinking about trying out, i say go for it! cheer is so much fun and even though it’s not always easy, it’s always worth it. being a cheerleader has taught me so many things that will come in handy when i move to Utah State University in Logan, Utah. i’m so excited to start this new adventure, and i know cheer has helped me get to where i am. i am who i am because of cheer. cv cheer had made me a better person. i’ve learned and grown so much and i will miss cheer everyday. but i’m excited for the future and i can’t wait for it! cheer will always have a place in my heart:)


Alesia Medina

Alesia's Bio: "I wanted to become a CVHS cheerleader because I wanted to be involved in something fun in high school. I love watching sports and cheering for other people, so cheer truly has helped me have some of the most fun times in my high school experience. Cheer has taught me to push myself and to always be positive. It's taught me that my actions affect others around me and the way you represent yourself represents your family, your team, and your school. It's taught me to include others and make them feel loved and needed. I will miss cheering under the Friday night lights, staying up way too late the night before competition and pounding on the wrestling mats screaming my lungs out. Just like any sport, cheer can be hard. If you are thinking about trying out for cheer, do it! Cheer can be exhausting and there is a day in every cheerleaders life where she thinks she wants to quit. DO NOT QUIT!!! Keep pushing and keep challenging yourself because cheer re!

ally is the most fun sport. It is so fun to be right up to the crown leading a cheer or right behind the line of football boys cheering for that next touchdown. Watching the basketball team shoot those 3 point shots making a CV with your hands hoping it will go in. Pushing yourself so hard making those stunts go up when your body wants to give up. These are the moments you will remember your whole life. I am currently working at Webster's orthodontics and 5 buck pizza and plan to work for a year after I graduate. I will then go to cosmetology school and suu to study psychology. I hope to become a mental health therapist and make an impact on other people's lives in helping them find happiness and relief but most importantly I can't wait to be a wife and mom someday. I want to thank my family for supporting me these last four years at almost every game, every performance, every competition, every late night, and every early morning practice. Seeing my dad proudly sporting a !

shirt that says "Alesia's cheer dad" meant the world to me even though he doesn't understand cheer. I want to thank all of my coaches that I have had over the years. You guys have taught me so much not only about cheer but also about life. I'm so grateful that I had you all as mom figures. You've blessed my life beyond measure and I couldn't thank you enough for all of the sacrifices you made for me and my teammates. I love canyon view cheer and I will miss it so much. Thank you for everything! Ahh CV! 💓 "

Courtney Willmott

Courtney's Bio: "Cheer has meant so much to me these past 3 years. It taught me how to work hard no matter how much you want to quit. How a group of girls can go from total strangers to your best friends. And how you can do anything you put your mind to. Cheer has definitely not been easy. I often came home from late night games or competitions sobbing from exhaustion, sickness, and pain but looking back, all I can remember are the great memories I made. Without cheer, I wouldn’t have been able to get through high school. Cheering on your school is busy and stressful but the bonds you make and the feelings you get are so worth it. Nothing feels better than hitting a stunt you’ve been working on for weeks. Cheer is HARD. There are so many days I thought I was going to just pass out on that mat. I truly owe my life to cheer and it absolutely breaks my heart that my time with it has come to an end. I love my teammates, coaches, and family so much and I’ll never ever forget the impact cheer has had on me"

Emily Miller

Emily's Bio: "I wanted to become a CV cheerleader because I wanted to do something that would help me make memories and lifelong friends I'll never forget.

Cheer has taught me resiliency, responsibility, accountability and much more. Cheer is hard but it helped me grow as a person.

I'll miss forming bonds with my team and my coaches. I'll miss the practices when we finally hit something hard and all of our hard work paid of. I'll miss cheering at the games with some of my best friends and goofing off and making memories that I'll cherish forever.

It's not the cheering for my school I will remember but rather it's the memories we make at practices, cheer camp, games and so much more. It will be the away trips I'll remember when our window was broken in our hotel and we thought we were gonna die ;). It's just the little things that I will miss the most.. Cheer is hard just like any sport you spend so much time with these people and it's a giant family. Like in all families when you spend too much time together you get annoyed but in the end you have many people who have your back and you have theirs. You will form unbreakable bonds with some of the best people and you will meet people you would otherwise never know. So if you want a challenge that will teach you a lot, try out for cheer! I'm gonna move away and see where life takes me :) I'll probably go to college to in that time period.

Thank you to my coaches and my teammates but also a huge shoutout to my mom who has supported me through it all the good and the bad. (Mainly the bad. I'm sorry mom)"

Halle Romine

Hallie Romine: One year in elementary school i dressed up as a cheerleader for halloween: i put on my moms old uniform, hair in a high pony tail, & some face paint & off i went. i never really thought i would actually get to become a cheerleader & have a uniform of my own, but i’m so glad that i had the opportunity to do so. i wouldn’t trade it for the world. when people think of cheer they picture a group of girls yelling from the sidelines, pom poms in hand & chants galore. but it is so much more than that. it’s early morning practices every morning, despite cheering late the night before at an away game. it’s always staying positive and peppy, even when you’re exhausted. it’s bruises and tears, stunting & dancing. most importantly though, it’s about finding your strengths & pushing yourself to be the best you can be. cheering is hard work. end of sentence. it is so tiring and difficult some days, but it’s worth every single second of it. the two minutes on the floor performing, the games cheering on the sidelines, the early morning practices, & every single insignificant detail that made my cheer experience the best it could have been, i’ll miss it all. try out for cheer if you are looking for a challenge some thing that will shape you as a person & show you what hard work is all about. you’ll learn so much about yourself and others; you’ll make friends that will last a life time; memories that will make your high school experience unforgettable. as we all move apart & go to different colleges & get married and whatever else, i know that the girls ive become so close with because of cheer will always be there and always be a part of my life. i want to thank those girls for making my cheer years what they were. i love you all. i also would like to thank my parents for all of their support, at every game, competition, and performance. i love you guys so much. & i want to thank my coaches & everyone else who helped get me where i am. everything i have been taught, i will take with me as i go through suu’s pre med program & theatre program. i can’t wait to apply every skill & trait i have been taught through cheer


Isabelle Garrett

Izzy's Bio: "I wanted to become a cvhs cheerleader to be apart of an amazing team and to support all the sports teams in the school! Cheer has taught me to try new things, to be responsible, and to push through the hard times. I will miss goofing around at practice and the feeling of cheering under the friday night lights! I think others should try out for cheer if they want to be apart of a rewarding team and be involved with the school! My future plans are to go to dixie state and enroll in the radiology technician program!

Kenya Stapley

Kenya's Bio: I wanted to become a CV cheerleader because I wanted to be someone who could make a positive impact at school. I have cheered since I was 3 years old and I love it and I always knew someday I wanted to be a high school cheerleader. I chose to switch to Canyon View as an incoming freshman because Brittany was the coach and I knew what high standards she held her team to, both academically and personally, and because of what a talented coach she is and I knew I just had to cheer for her!

Cheer has taught me so many things that I can't begin to list them all. It has taught me teamwork, perseverance, determination, dedication, endurance, compassion, kindness, and humility and the value of hard work. I will literally miss everything about cheer. I will miss the coaches, the friendships. I will miss that undescribable feeling you get right before you walk onto the competition floor, when you aren't sure if you need to throw up, cry, laugh, or all three. I will miss the stunting, the tumbling, and cheering on all of our teams at CV. I will miss the early morning practices and I will miss the excitement you feel when you hit a new stunt or master a new tumbling pass. I think you should try out for cheer if you are a hard worker, dedicated and want to make a difference at Canyon View. Cheer is so much more than cheering at games. Cheerleaders should support all of the students, not just the athletes, and should be friendly and kind and help those that may be struggling in life. Cheer will have a huge impact on your life if you are willing to put in the work and make some sacrifices.

It is a dream of mine to continue to cheer at the college level so I am working hard to reach that goal. I also have a goal to coach cheer. I would like to work with special needs kids, whether that be as a behavioral therapist or special education teacher, I am not sure yet. I am so thankful to my coaches, for always believing in me and encouraging me and I'm grateful for some lifelong friendships I have made with so many sweet, fun girls!


Maggie Davis

Maggie's Bio: "From the time I was a little girl and ever since I could remember I wanted to be a cheerleader. Growing up I danced and did gymnastics and remembered feeling like I was missing something, I loved both sports individually but I wished I could do both, and in a way.. cheerleading the perfect thing, it had the dancing aspect but also still gave you the feeling of being a freaking super hero and giving you a rush of adrenaline when you throw those stunts up in the air, which is how my dream of being a cheerleader started, so I started busting out the “bring it on” movies and working my butt off to be on this team and let me be the first to tell you... it wasn’t easy, but it was SO worth it! Becoming a cheerleader has probably been one of the best decisions I have made, cheer has taught me so much and all the things I have learned from it I’ve applied in my daily life. for example, dedication, it’s not easy getting up at 5 a.m. every morning but you still do because you realize you have a whole team that relies on you and without one person being there, it can jeopardize a whole routine. It has also taught me patience, learning new stunts and so many routines is really hard on your mind and your body and it takes time to perfect those things and learning how to be patient is a crucial part of both. Cheer has also taught me to believe in myself, how to push through physical and mental trials even when you want to quit so bad because it would be the easier thing to do, but i stuck with it. I’ve also learned how to grow and strengthen my relationships and seriously so many other things. I am really gonna miss being a cheerleader but so very thankful for all of the friendships I have gained through this sport. It makes me so sad to think that I have such a short time left, these years have flown by so fast and my heart is breaking knowing that it’s coming to an end, I am going to miss being around this cheer family and amazing coaches of mine who have taught me so much and miss all of the fun car and bus rides and laughing until we either cry or pee, these girls have given me so many special and fun memories that I will cherish forever. I think others should try out for cheer because it gives you the amazing opportunity to be apart of the school in a very unique way. You get to be there at every single sporting event supporting the other teams and nothing beats the feelings of cheering down on that track cheering on our football team as they score a touchdown or being right next to the net when one of our basketball players shoots a 3-pointer. Being a canyon view cheerleader is so special and we get to serve our school and community and represent our amazing school in a positive way. After I graduate, I plan to attend Evans Hairstyling College and get my certification in cosmetology and specialize in hair cutting/coloring and be a certified lash technician. I also hope to go to school to become an orthodontist assistant. I just want to thank my family, school, coaches and clo!

se friends that have supported me constantly and given me endless encouragement to keep going and push me to do my very best I am so so grateful to have been apart of this amazing team and school but I can’t wait to see what the future has in store for me and the rest of the 2020 graduating class💛

Savannah Durbin

Savannah's Bio: I wanted to become cv cheerleader because I wanted to be involved in something that was fun and cheered on all the sports teams!! Cheer has taught me to be accountable, to be positive and to keep pushing when it gets hard. I will miss messing around at practices and cheering at football games and wrestling. I think you should try out for cheer if you want to cheer on our school in sports and be involved! My plans after high school is to go to dixie state and get my hospitality industry and business administration!!


Shelby Haycock

Shelby's Bio: "I wanted to become a CV cheerleader because I wanted a fun, positive, and new way to support our school for my senior year. Cheer has taught me how to make friends in a new situation, how to do things outside of my comfort zone even when I am terrified, and that there are so many amazing things and people in the world if you are willing to try new things. I will miss cheering with my sister, being so involved in this amazing school, and all the fun trips and practices we had. I think that girls should try out for cheer because it is such a great way to make fun memories and meet so many incredible girls all while learning important life lessons. I plan to attend the University of Utah this fall to study special education and then to get my masters degree in occupational therapy one day! I just want to say a huge thank you to my amazing family for always supporting me throughout high school and thank you to the amazing coaches for being so supportive and welcoming this year!!"

Skylee Peterson

Skylee's Bio:

i wanted to become a cheerleader because my older sister was one, and i have always looked up to her. when i made up my mind that i wanted to cheer— i threw myself into the sport. i immediately began cheering with an all-star gym with the sole intention of building the skills that i needed to be a member of the cheer team in high school. however; i was astounded at the differences between all-star and high school cheer, and i have loved cheering for my school more than i had ever imagined. cheer has taught me that my actions will not just reflect myself. the second you are a team member— you will be associated with your school, your sport, and each of your teammates. i have paid extra special attention to my actions in and out of practice, because i am not the only one who will feel the repercussions. being a cheerleader has also taught me to have resiliency in challenging situations, and it’s okay if things are difficult. it’s hard to be in the gym everyday at six ready to stretch and warm up, it’s hard to have a stunt fall and carry on while you’re bleeding. it’s exhausting to put your own life aside to protect another person’s, and it’s especially hard to lock whatever emotions you’re feeling away so you can keep a smile on your face for the crowd, but your team and your school needs you to be there happy and ready to cheer. I will miss my amazing teammates the most. i’ll miss the bus rides, the conversations in lines, competing, and the guarantee of laughter every time i saw them. i will miss the relationship that i had with my coaches, and how amazing it feels to hit a stunt. i will also miss the quiet impact that i could have on all of the players over the years— i could do everything in my power to make sure that each player would have someone cheering their name, even when they weren’t even sure that their own family would be there. I think that you should try out for cheer if you’re not afraid of difficult things, and you’re ready to push yourself physically, mentally, and emotionally to be the strongest person you can be for your team. cheer is the source of nearly all of the best memories that i have made in high school, and i’m sure that is the case for the majority of those that have been on the team. I will apply to suu’s nursing program in the fall, and hope to complete an anthropology minor through a study abroad program in greece my spring semester. after i graduate the nursing program, i plan on advancing to law school. i hope to become a medical malpractice lawyer for a corporate hospital or insurance company. I'd like to thank my parents for their support the last four years, and their confidence in me that i could balance my athletic, academic, and social life. they allowed me to do something i have will all my heart year after year— even after listening to how much i hurt or wanted to quit. i’d also like to thank the girls who have participated in every amazing memory that i will take away from high school.

Valerie Johansen

Valerie's Bio:

I wanted to be a CV cheerleader from seeing all the girls lift each other up when they are down and being so supportive of what you do! Cheer has taught me to be myself in front of people and dedication being around girls everyday who want to improve what they can and that’s what made me get up on early morning practices . Each day they were so supportive and encouraging the people that were struggling! Seeing all the girls improve everyday is amazing ! We all work so hard to become better than we were yesterday it’s all about positivity and hard work! I’m going to miss putting in our cheer bows and gathering in a big circle ready to preform and cheer our hearts out Other people should try out because the activities we do are amazing and our coaches support us like moms and work so hard to do what they do ! We couldn’t ask for better coaches ! The girls will always be there for you and help you no matter what! Even on our hardest days the girls and coaches lift everyone else up and that’s what makes it amazing. I am going to Dixie to become a nurse I really love the study of the body ! I have my CNA degree and will graduate with my medical assistant and phlebotomy degree and I plan on taking it there! I would love to work with babies or become a scrub nurse! CVHS Cheer is the best team ever❤️

165 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page